seed mural  22. 127 West Locust Street final   406 E Lincoln Ave 6

The Historic Preservation Commission was created by the Belvidere City Council as a means of encouraging the preservation of historically and architecturally significant structures and areas of the City of Belvidere (See Chapter 58 of the Municipal Code). The Commission consists of seven members that are residents of the city or persons owning real property in the city appointed by the mayor and approved by the city council. The members of the Commission are appointed on the basis of expertise, experience or interest in the areas of archaeology, architectural history, art, building construction or engineering, finance, historical and architectural preservation, law, local government, neighborhood organizing, or real estate. Members of the Commission are appointed for terms of three years.  The current members of the commission are: 


  • The Commission currently meets on the Fourth Tuesday of every month at 5:30 PM in the City Council Chambers of Belvidere City Hall, 401 Whitney Boulevard, Belvidere, Illinois. 
  • Vacancies- Please contact Gina DelRose if interested